Dark and Shallow Lies Book Tour: Review

Dark and Shallow Lies is Ginny Myers Sain’s debut young adult fantasy novel. I am happy to share it with you and be a part of this tour hosted by TBR and Beyond.

Welcome to La Cachette, Louisiana elevation 3 ft. Population 106 living souls. The only time the number changes is when someone gets born. Or dies.

Synopsis

A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power.

La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to hide.

This tiny town, where seventeen-year-old Grey spends her summers, is the self-proclaimed Psychic Capital of the World–and the place where Elora Pellerin, Grey’s best friend, disappeared six months earlier.

Grey can’t believe that Elora vanished into thin air any more than she can believe that nobody in a town full of psychics knows what happened. But as she digs into the night that Elora went missing, she begins to realize that everybody in town is hiding something – her grandmother Honey; her childhood crush Hart; and even her late mother, whose secrets continue to call to Grey from beyond the grave.

When a mysterious stranger emerges from the bayou – a stormy-eyed boy with links to Elora and the town’s bloody history – Grey realizes that La Cachette’s past is far more present and dangerous than she’d ever understood. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who she can trust. In a town where secrets lurk just below the surface, and where a murderer is on the loose, nobody can be presumed innocent–and La Cachette’s dark and shallow lies may just rip the town apart.

My Thoughts

I gobbled up Dark and Shallow Lies. You will too. I cannot sing my praise for Dark and Shallow Lies loud enough.

Sain’s captured the Deep South perfectly, the magic, the sweat, the folklore—It is rich and feels like you are walking side by side with Grey and the other summer children. If you have ever lived in the south, Dark and Shallow Lies feels like home. If you haven’t, welcome to the south.

There are so many things I loved about this book. By far my favorite thing was the gifts the characters have—visions, clairaudients, detecting auras, and empaths to name a few. Everyone has a little something to bring to the table, connection the characters to a world unseen to most. From the first few pages Sain swept me away with how she was able to weave the mystic world into reality.

In La Cachette, the line between what’s real and what isn’t gets blurry sometimes

I loved the vibe of La Cachette and Dark and Shallow Lies as a whole. Ginny Myers Sain built a world I want to keep visiting with characters I cannot get enough of.

If you are looking for your next spooky mystic mystery read, look no further than Dark and Shallow.

About the Author

Ginny Myers Sain is the author of DARK AND SHALLOW LIES, her debut YA novel available from Razorbill/Penguin. Although she comes from a long line of writers, her first love has always been the theatre. She has a degree in theatre and has spent most of her career teaching acting and directing plays and musicals. Ginny currently live in Tulsa, Oklahoma, with her teenage son and a very cowardly doberman named Shipley. When she is not working in the theatre or writing, you’re likely to find her listening to true crime podcasts, taking pictures of alligators, eating tacos, or planning a trip to Walt Disney World.

Website Twitter Instagram Goodreads Facebook

Book Links

Goodreads Amazon Barnes and Noble Book Depository Indigo IndieBound

All thoughts are mine and mine alone. Thanks for reading!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s