Sleeping Around

By Mortan Vega

‘Don’t Downplay your problems to make other people comfortable, okay?’

I am so happy to review Sleeping Around. So let’s dive right in!

Synopsis

Hard-hitting yet humorous, this young adult contemporary following a teen’s transition from foster care to college by debut author Morgan Vega is perfect for fans of What I Carry by Jennifer Longo and Watch Over Me by Nina LaCour.

Foster care always promised her a bed. Now she doesn’t even have that.

Coralee (Corey) Reed can’t wait to trade her current foster house for Harmony Hall, the dorm for music majors. Corey arrives at Borns College with her pawn-shop violin and a borrowed duffle bag, ready to leave her foster care baggage behind.

But Corey’s first day on campus starts on a sour note. She runs into her archrival violinist Dylan Mason, then her name’s not on the dorm’s roster. Worst of all, Corey can’t live at Harmony Hall. Period. Because she’s not yet accepted into the music program. Instead, Reslife shoves her into a temporary triple with two unsuspecting (and beyond different) roommates.

When one of her roommates does the unforgivable, Corey starts sleeping around campus—from air mattresses to random couches—while waiting for an open room. But how can she beat Dylan for first chair if she can’t keep her eyes open? How can she pass her finals without a good night’s sleep? Will college, the place she thought would launch her dreams of becoming a professional violinist, be the place her dreams end all too soon?

My thoughts

I loved this book. I loved loved loved that Sleeping Around fit perfectly between YA and NA. Readers of both will enjoy Corey’s story.

Sleeping Around touches on acceptance, growth, trust, and friendship. There are so many things I enjoyed about this book.

Corey, like all of us, is nervous to start college, more so leaving the stability her currant foster family offers. Her first day on campus is less than ideal, leaving her without a dorm. As Corey works through this and every other problem that pops up, we see how she has coped growing up in the foster care system. Corey must look past her old ways to move forward, she must learn to trust. I loved it.

All of Vega’s characters are likable. There wasn’t one I left disliking. It is rare to have a book in which by the end every character’s story has been told.

I have to point out the effort and research by Vega to ensure the details of the foster care system were presented in a correct way.

Sleeping Around will humor older readers as they reflect on their younger days, encourage younger readers to face challenges, and give all readers the bravery to trust.

About the Author

Morgan Vega earned her BA in English from Bridgewater College and MA in Writing, Rhetoric & Technical Communication from James Madison University. She worked in higher education for seven years before transitioning into the publishing industry. Morgan interned at Kore Press, worked as an editor at Scarsdale Publishing, and now does marketing for No Starch Press.

Morgan grew up and lives in the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia. When she’s not writing, Morgan’s freelance editing and talking about books on social media. Sleeping Around is her debut novel.

Visit her website morganvega.com, subscribe to her YouTube channel Morgan Vega, and follow her on social media at @MorganVegaWrite.

Author Links

Website: https://morganvega.com/ 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/morganvegawrite/ 

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/MorganVega 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/morganvegawrite 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MorganVegaWrite/ 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/morganvega 

Book Links

Website: https://morganvega.com/books/sleeping-around/ 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/58035090-sleeping-around 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Sleeping-Around-Morgan-Vega-ebook/dp/B0974W6BJF

Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/sleeping-around-morgan-vega/1139809365

Author Donation to HumanKind!

Before you leave! Vega plans to doante a portion of her pre-order and first-month sales to a foster care non-profit. She will be giving to HumanKind—a non-profit human services organization that supports loving foster parents of at-risk youth—and their Cases for Kids program that provides foster youth with new items of their own. You can check out more information on Vega’s instagram.

While I did receive Sleeping Around in exchange for review, these thoughts are mine and mine alone.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s